Michigan classifies its security guards into the following categories, each with different requirements:
- Private security guards: A person or an employee of a company who offers, for hire, to provide protection of property on the premises of another, including an employee of a private college security force. These security guards are indirectly overseen by the Department of Consumer and Industry Services Licensing and Regulatory Authority (LARA) through their licensing of security guard companies and college security forces.
- Private security police officer: An employee of a company or educational institution primarily responsible for the protection of property on the premises of the company, but is not part of a private college security force. These security police officers are controlled through the State Police through their approval of private security police forces. To be a security police officer you must have previous police officer, military or other related service.
- New MI Security Guard Training: No security guard experience.
- Rookie MI Security Guard Training: No additional requirements for your 1st year employed as a guard.
- Pro MI Security Guard Training: No additional requirements after your 1st year employed as a guard.
- New MI Private Security Police Officer: Only for if you have previous police officer, military or other related service experience.
- New MI Security Guard Training: No security guard experience
- Rookie MI Security Guard: No additional requirements for your 1st year employed as a guard.
- Pro MI Security Guard: No additional requirements after 1st year employed as a guard.
A security guard license or card is not required in Michigan. Instead, each security guard company is responsible for training and behavior of the security officers it hires. The company performs a background check on security guard applicants. Private security guard requirements are covered here, not requirements for private security police officers in MI.
Type of Security Guard License Required & Issuing Authority
- License Type: None
- License Length: Not applicable
- Licensing Authority: Indirectly through the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA)
- Licensing Website: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
- Licensing Phone Number: 517-241-8205
- Licensing Address: Not applicable
- License Laws: Michigan Public Act 330 of 1968
Temporary Security Guard License
An applicant work as a security guard for up to 90 days once they pass a name-based background check by the State Police and their fingerprints have been submitted for a background check to the FBI. If the applicant isn’t background check cleared based on fingerprints within 90 days the applicant must stop working as a security guard.
Security Guard Training Requirements & Fees
- Initial: Hours unknown and cost unknown. No state required training. The security guard company the security guard works for may offer training for free or a charge.
Security Guard Background Check & Fingerprinting Fees
- Amount: $49.25 + any FBI background check fees
- Payment Types Accepted: Unknown
- Payable To: Security guard company applicant is applying to.
A guard’s prospective employer takes the applicants fingerprints and submits them to the FBI for a national criminal background chack and then the State Police for a state criminal background check. The security job applicant or their prospective employer have to pay a $49.25 fingerprint processing fee plus any FBI imposed fees.
The FBI sends its results to the Michigan State Police. The State Police then determines if the applicant is fit to be a security guard.
Security job applicants can get fingerprinted by a law enforcement agency or the State Police-qualified fingerprinting service, including some security guard company licensees.
Name Background Check for 90-Day Temporary Security Guard
Guards complete an employment application for the security company they want to work for. The prospective employer submits to the State Police the applicant’s name for a name check for a cost of $15. The State Police responds to this request with 1 to 3 days. Provisional clearance based on the name check allows the applicant to work as a security guard for up to 90 days pending final criminal background clearance based on the submitted fingerprints. An applicant can’t work as security guard until their fingerprints are submitted to the State Police. Most companies won’t employ anyone until their background check clears.
Security Guard Application Fees
Michigan Security Guard Application
- Fee: Not applicable
- Payment Types Accepted: Not applicable
- Payable To: Not applicable
Security Guard Basic Requirements
Michigan Public Act 330 states which of its sections on the qualifications for people who run security guard companies also apply to the guards employed. The requirements vary depending on the date the guard is working.
Security guards working in MI after June 21, 2002 must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have at least a high school diploma, a GED, or its equivalent.
- Have not been under any sentence, including parole, probation, or actual incarceration, for the commission of a felony with 5 years before the date of application.
- Have not been judged insane unless restored to sanity by court order.
- Not have any outstanding warrants for their arrest.
Security guards working in MI after March 28, 2001 must:
- Be 18 years or older
- Have at least an 8th grade education or equivalent
- Have not been under any sentence, including parole, probation, or actual incarceration, for the commission of a felony within 5 years before the date of application.
- Have not been judged insane unless restored to sanity by court order.
- Not have any outstanding warrants for their arrest.
Security Guard Application Process
To be a security guard in MI:
- Apply for a security guard job at a security guard company.
- The security guard company does a background check based on the applicant’s name with the State Police.
- If the applicant passes the name check, then the security guard company takes the applicant’s fingerprints and sends them to the FBI to run a background check on the applicant.
- The applicant can work for 90 days after passing the name check while waiting to pass the FBI background check.
Company Issued Security Guard License Card
The state does not issue any type of security guard license pocket ID. However, usually the guard’s employer issues the guard an security guard ID guard. LARA approves the design of the cards supplied by employers. The guard license card can’t have the State of Michigan seal on, but must state that the guard is a private security police officer, private college security force officer, or security guard.
Company Issued Security Guard Uniform
The company issued security guard uniform must also be approved by LARA. The security guard uniform can’t be such that people confuse a guard with a public peace officer. The security guard uniform needs to always show the name of the employer in at size of at least 3” x 5”.
Quitting a Security Guard Job
When a guard quits as a security guard in Michigan, they must give their security ID card to their employer as well as property or equipment given to the guard to use in connection with the employer’s business. If the guard doesn’t return these items, the guard can be charge for a misdemeanor crime.
The state of Michigan doesn’t require additional training to become an armed security guard. However, you need a permit to carry a weapon in Michigan. The law in Michigan is confusing in regards to open vs concealed carry. In general, to carry a gun in MI, most people get a Concealed Carry Permit.
However, as a armed security guard, you most often will open carry your employer issued weapon while on duty.
Also, MI has weapon free zones, such as schools and theaters, where no one is supposed to carry a weapon. There are several good Websites that dig into the nuances of the Michigan firearm laws, such as the Michigan Coalition for Responsible Gun Owners. However, your employer should thoroughly understand the weapon carrying and permit laws and educate you on these laws.
Employer Issued Firearms
When a private security police employer or private college security force employer issues you a firearm for the purpose of protecting the property of your employer, the pistol is considered the property of your employer. You can only have the firearm in your possession while you’re on duty. When you’re off duty, your employer retains custody of the firearm.
Open vs Concealed Carry
When working as an armed security guard you might be in one or two situations in MI, carrying a gun issued by your employer and carrying your own gun. Your employer may have rules in regards to whether or not it wants you to carry your own concealed weapon while on duty even if you are licensed to carry it.
Open Carry Permit
To purchase and legally possess a pistol in Michigan without a concealed pistol license, you as a prospective purchaser must successfully pass (70% or more) a basic pistol safety questionnaire and obtain a License to Purchase, which is valid for 10 days, from the local law enforcement agency. You then sign a notarized sworn statement that you meet the Michigan qualifications to purchase/obtain a pistol. When you purchase your gun, you and the seller complete the form. The License to Purchase, must be returned in person or by certified or first class mail to the local law enforcement agency within 10 days.
Concealed Carry Permit
If you work as a security guard, you can’t carry a concealed pistol without a Carrying Concealed Pistol (CCP) permit in Michigan even if your employer asks you to carry a concealed weapon on duty. You can only carry a pistol while on duty on the premises of your employer and only if it is exposed.
Your employer can prohibit you from carrying a concealed pistol while in the course of your employment with that employer.
It can take anywhere from 1-3 months from when you complete your CCP training, submit your fingerprints and your gun permit application until you receive your concealed weapon permit. The CCP 8-hour Pistol Safety Training Course consists of 5 hours of classroom and 3 hours of range firing).
Concealed Pistol License Requirements
Applicants for a Michigan Concealed Pistol License must:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be a citizen of the United States or an immigrant alien lawfully admitted into the United States
- Be a resident of the State of Michigan for at least 6 months prior to application. An applicant is a state resident if one of the following applies:
- The applicant possesses a valid, lawfully obtained Michigan driver’s license or state identification card
- The applicant is lawfully registered to vote in Michigan
- The applicant is on active duty status with the United States Armed Forces and stationed outside of Michigan, but Michigan is the home of record
- The applicant is on active duty status with the United States Armed Forces and is permanently stationed in Michigan, but the home of record is another state
- Note: The 6-month residency requirement may be waived by the concealed pistol licensing board for new residents licensed by another state.
- Have successfully completed a pistol safety training course
- Not be subject to any of the following:
- An order requiring involuntary hospitalization or alternative treatment
- An order finding legal incapacitation
- A finding of not guilty by reason of insanity
- Not be subject to a conditional bond release prohibiting purchase or possession of a firearm
- Not be subject to a personal protection order
- Not be prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or distributing a firearm
- Have never been convicted of a felony in Michigan or elsewhere
- Have no felony charge pending in Michigan or elsewhere
- Have not been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces
- Have not been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the 8 years immediately preceding the date of application:
- Failing to stop when involved in a personal injury accident
- Operating while intoxicated, second offense
- Drunk driving, commercial vehicle
- Reckless driving
- Driving while license suspended or revoked, second or subsequent offense
- Operating aircraft while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance with prior conviction
- Hindering or obstructing certain persons performing official weights and measures duties
- Hindering, obstructing, assaulting, or committing bodily injury upon director or authorized representative
- Operating an ORV under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, second or subsequent offense
- Operating a snowmobile under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, second or subsequent offense
- Operating a vessel under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, second or subsequent offense
- Possessing a controlled substance, controlled substance analogue, or prescription form
- Operating a locomotive under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, or while visibly impaired
- Displaying sexually explicit matter to minors
- Assault or domestic assault
- Aggravated assault or aggravated domestic assault
- Breaking and entering or entering without breaking
- Fourth-degree child abuse
- Accosting, enticing, or soliciting a child for immoral purposes
- Vulnerable adult abuse
- Solicitation to commit a felony
- Impersonating a peace officer or medical examiner
- Illegal sale of a firearm or ammunition
- Illegal use or sale of a self-defense spray
- Sale or possession of a switchblade
- Improper transportation of a loaded firearm
- Failure to have a pistol inspected
- Accepting a pistol in pawn
- Failure to register the purchase of a firearm or a firearm component
- Improperly obtaining a pistol, making a false statement on an application to purchase a pistol, or using false identification to purchase a pistol
- Intentionally aiming a firearm without malice
- Intentionally discharging a firearm aimed without malice
- Possessing a firearm on prohibited premises
- Brandishing a firearm in public
- Possession of a firearm by an individual less than 18 years of age
- Intentionally discharging a firearm aimed without malice causing injury
- Parent of a minor who possessed a firearm in a weapon-free school zone
- Setting a spring gun or other device
- Possessing a firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a drug
- Weapon-free school zone violation
- Indecent exposure
- Fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct
- Reckless, careless, or negligent use of a firearm resulting in injury or death
- Careless, reckless, or negligent use of a firearm resulting in property damage
- Reckless discharge of a firearm,
- Not have violated a law of the United States, another state, or a local unit of government of this state or another state substantially corresponding to a violation described above.
- Have not been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application:
- Operating under the influence
- Refusal of commercial vehicle operator to submit to a chemical test
- Ignition interlock device reporting violation
- Circumventing an ignition interlocking device
- Operating a commercial vehicle with alcohol content
- Operating an aircraft under the influence
- Operating an ORV under the influence
- Operating an ORV while visibly impaired
- Operating a snowmobile under the influence
- Controlled substances
- Operating a locomotive under the influence
- Disorderly person
- False pretenses with intent to defraud
- Second-degree retail fraud
- Larceny, vacant building
- Larceny, by conversion
- Larceny, defrauding lessor
- Malicious destruction of property
- Malicious destruction of real property
- Receiving stolen property
- Malicious use of telephones
- Note: The applicant must not have violated a law of the United States, another state, or a local unit of government of this state or another state substantially corresponding to a violation described above.
- Have not been found guilty but mentally ill of any crime and has not offered a plea of not guilty of, or been acquitted of, any crime by reason of insanity
- Have never been subject to an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting due to a mental illness
- Not have a diagnosed mental illness at the time the application is made, regardless of whether he or she is receiving treatment
- Not be under a court order of legal incapacity in this state or elsewhere
- Not be detrimental to the safety of his or her self or any other person if issued a Concealed Pistol License
A Concealed Pistol License may not be issued to a person prohibited under federal law from possessing or transporting a firearm. The federal requirements to possess or transport a firearm include that the applicant:
- Not have been convicted in any court of, or under indictment for, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year (i.e. felony, or any misdemeanor punishable by more than 2 years)
- Not be a fugitive of justice
- Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substance, as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act
- Not be adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental institution
- Not be an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States
- Not be discharged from the United States Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions
- Not have renounced his or her citizenship
- Not be subject to a court order prohibiting harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or child of such intimate partner or from engaging in other conduct that would place the partner or child in reasonable fear of bodily injury.
- Not be convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
CCP Pistol Training
The instructor for your pistol safety training course must be certified by a Michigan State or national organization. The Michigan Commission of Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES) is the authorized state organization and the National Rifle Association (NRA) is an authorized national firearms training organization.
Retired Police Officer Exemption
For a concealed carry, you don’t need to attend an 8-hour concealed carry training program in order to obtain a CPL license.
Civilian Pistol Safety Training Course
Michigan Commission of Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES)’s CCW Civilian Pistol Safety Training Course Successful Completion Requirements. MCOLES CCW (carrying concealed weapon) or CCP (carrying concealed pistol) are the same. You Must:
- Participate in 100% of the classroom and range firing portion of the training.
- Pass the MCOLES 50 question written examination with a score of 70% or better. This examination is generated from a test bank of questions. The testing protocol is as follows:
C. Retest if necessary
D. Pass or Fail at 70%
- Pass the MCOLES basic pistol safe handling assessment that includes:
A. Inspection of the handgun to determine its loaded or unloaded status;
B. Safely handing the handgun from one person to another;
C. Securing the handgun using a locking device;
D. Correctly loading the handgun; and
E. Correctly unloading the handgun.
- Pass the MCOLES CCW or CCP basic pistol safety training assessment range courses. The course requirements are as follows:
A. The target for assessment of Section XI. B. is blank target that measures 25½ inches long by 11 inches wide (equivalent to stacking 3 – 11 inch x 8½ inch letter size paper vertically on a target backer).
B. Distance from shooter to target – 4 Yards
C. Time Limit – None
D. Shooting Position – Shooter’s choice (Note: Range or other factors may limit choices)
E. Starting Position – Ready Position
F. Number of Rounds – Five (5)
G. On the command to fire, the shooter aims at the target and fires until all 5 rounds have been fired.
H. Scoring – (100% ) all five (5) rounds must be within the confines of the paper (25½ inch by 11 inch boundary)
I. To successfully complete the range firing portion, the participant must complete tasks “G” and “H” 2 out of 3 attempts.
Private Security Police Officers work for private police forces authorized by the State Police. To be a private security police officer you must have previous police officer, military or other related service. Most private guards are private security guards, not private security police officers in Michigan.
Private Security Police Officer Requirements
Private security police officers must:
- Meet minimum age requirements
- Have security or law enforcement experience
- Not have any felony conviction or any specific misdemeanor convictions
Misdemeanor Arrest Authority
A private security police officer has the authority to arrest a person for a suspected misdemeanor offense without a warrant when the private security police officer is on the employer’s premises and in full unfirom. Such authority is limited to their hours of employment as a private security police officer and does not extend beyond the boundaries of the property of the employer and while the private security police officer is in the full uniform of the employer.
Training for Private Security Police Officers
Private security police officers must be trained according to Michigan State Police requirements as follows:
- Legal: Criminal law and procedure; civil law and diversity
- Special Curriculum: Firearms familiarization or firearms proficiency, if carrying firearms, and defensive tactics
- Critical Incident Curriculum: CPR/first aid, non-violent intervention,and emergency preparedness
- Patrol Operation
Private security police officers in Michigan are required to to the following annual, maintenance security officer classes:
- First aid
- Emergency preparedness
- Legal update
- Defensive tactics and firearms range qualifications or strategic video training for those who carry firearms
The information available on the Michigan State Police Website is not clear on how you become a private security police officer. Security police officer requirements are not covered in detail on this website. Private security forces are responsible for hiring, training and managing the security police officers. If you want to become a private security policer officer, either as someone you know who is already one or contact a private security force. Currently, the following are the only such private security forces in Michigan:
- Detroit Medical Center
- Henry Ford Health System
- St. John Hospital & Medical Center
- Spectrum Health
- Renaissance Center Management Co.
- Fairlane Town Center
- Pontiac School District
- Lansing School District
- Schoolcraft College
- Wayne County Community College District
- University of Detroit Mercy
- Emergent BioDefense Lansing, Inc.