Type of Security Guard License Required & Issuing Authority
Connecticut state law requires that you take a mandatory 8 class for Security Officer Certification plus additional firearm training and certification to get your CT Guard Card also known as the CT Blue Card. (The CT Gold Card is for bail enforcement agents.) Usually the firearm training is 7-8 hours.
Department of Public Safety
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
Monday through Friday 9am-4:30pm
Armed Security Guard Application and Licensing Requirements
- Be at least 21 years old
- Pass a Criminal Background Check by the State Police
- Complete the 8-hour mandated Guard Card class
- Possess a CT state pistol permit (another 7-8 hours of training in addition to the Guard Card class) and an appropriate firearm for security employment
- You must carry your Blue Card license (guard card) at all times while you’re performing duties associated with your security officer employment.
- When performing your security officer duties, you must show your CT guard card for inspection upon request of a law enforcement officer.
Armed Blue Card Application Process
- Complete your 8-hours of security officer training to complete the application process.
- Complete your pistol permit training requirements.
- A valid Temporary State Permit to Carry Pistols or Revolvers (DPS-11-C) must be presented in person at DESPP (Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection Headquarters). Proof of legal and lawful presence in the United States is required. Acceptable forms of proof include a birth certificate, U.S. passport, or documentation of permanent residence from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.
- Complete forms DPS-799-C and DPS-164-C and sign it in the presence of an official when your photo is taken. Your photograph and signature will be taken at DESPP.
- Submit an affidavit signed by an instructor certified by the State, the National Rifle Association, or the Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection stating that the applicant successfully completed a safety or training course in the use of pistols or revolvers. Such statement shall specify that the instructor was so certified at the time that he taught the course, and shall include your full name and the date, location and duration of the course.
- Submit a complete set of fingerprints with separate checks or money orders to cover the federal processing fee of $16.50 and the state fee of $70.00, both made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” for the required criminal background checks.
- Submit an additional check or money order for $35.00 made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” for the processing of the Eligibility Certificate.
- When applicable, criminal and/or mental health records must be submitted (C.G.S. 29-36g).
- Renewal applicants must submit a DPS-129-C and follow instruction for pistol permit renewal above including citizenship and legal resident alien requirements.
- Include a self-addressed, stamped #10 envelope.
Find information about how you can renew your CT armed guard card (Blue Card).
Things That Will Get Your Armed Security Guard Application Denied
Your armed guard applications will not be issued or be renewed if:
- You have a FELONY CONVICTION in any jurisdiction.
- You are an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)).
- You were CONVICTED of a MISDEMEANOR CRIME of DOMESTIC VIOLENCE. This means an offense that (1) is a misdemeanor under federal or state law; and (2) has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent or guardian of the victim, or by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, or by a person who is cohabiting with or who has cohabited with the victim or spouse, parent,or guardian, or by any person similarly situated to a spouse, parent or guardian of the victim.
- You were discharged from custody within the preceding 20 years after having been found NOT GUILTY OF A CRIME BY REASON OF MENTAL DISEASE OR DEFECT pursuant to C.G.S. 53a-13.
- You were CONFINED TO A HOSPITAL for any psychiatric disability (C.G.S. 17a-495) within the preceding 12 months by order of a judge of a probate court.
- You are subject to a RESTRAINING ORDER or PROTECTIVE ORDER issued by a court in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force.
- You are subject to a Firearms Seizure Order issued pursuant to C.G.S. 29-38c prohibiting possession of firearms.
- You are an ILLEGAL ALIEN in the United States.
- You are UNDER the AGE of 21 years.
- You have renounced your United States citizenship.
- You have been discharged from the Armed Forces under a dishonorable condition.
- You are prohibited by federal law, Section 922 (g) or (n) of Title 18 of the United States Code
- You have a MISDEMEANOR CONVICTION in Connecticut of one of the following crimes:
- Illegal possession of controlled or hallucinogenic substances, as specified under C.G.S. 21a-279
- Criminally negligent homicide – 53a-58
- Assault in the third degree – 53a-61
- Assault of a victim 60 or older in the third degree – 53a-61a
- Threatening- 53a-62
- Reckless endangerment in the first degree – 53a-63
- Unlawful restraint in the second degree – 53a-96
- Riot in the first degree – 53a-175
- Riot in the second degree – 53a-176
- Inciting to riot – 53a-178
- Stalking in the second degree – 53a-181d
Security Guard Employer Registration
Once you start working as a guard, your employer must register you with the state. The registration of security guards consists of the following:
- The standard application (DPS-688-C)
- Two (2) color photographs, 2” x 2” (passport style)
- A registration fee of $40.00
- Copy of Security Officers Identification Card
The check or money order for security guard registration must be made payable to the “Treasurer, State of Connecticut.”
Note: Employers may submit the “Application for Registration of Employee” and the “Application for Security Officer Firearms Permit” at the same time, providing that ) separate checks are submitted, one for the registration fee of $40.00, and one for $62.00 for the “Security Officer Firearms Permit.” The Security Officer Firearms Permit will expire the same time as the Connecticut State Pistol Permit no matter when it was applied for.
Armed Security Guard Blue Card Training Requirements & Fees
Security officers must carry the weapon used in qualification. Security officers must range qualify for each weapon they carry. The instructor must complete the scoring side of form DPS-1030-C for each additional weapon to be carried.
The Blue Card Course includes:
- A detailed review of Connecticut general statutes concerning employment and licensing in private detective and security services
- Use of force of persons and premises
- Alternatives to the use of deadly force
- Criminal codes
- U.S. federal firearms regulations and current Connecticut gun laws
- Firearm safety
- Fundamentals of Safe Gun Handling
- How Guns Work and their Differences
- Loading, Unloading & Checking For Safety
- Fundamentals of Pistol Shooting
- Shooting of Handgun
- Carrying and shooting techniques for uniformed and non-uniformed personnel
- Marksmanship skills
- How to fill out Permit Application
A written examination and live course of fire firearm qualification for security services personnel is required. Upon successful completion of the program, the participant may then apply to a security or private detective company for their Blue Card License and their state pistol permit to be amended as Class 1 by the Connecticut State Police for armed security services employment.
Armed Security Guard Training for Veterans
If you are a Veteran, the cost of your Blue Card security guard training maybe reimbursed through the Department of Veterans Affairs Form VA-22-0803 “Application for Reimbursement of Licensing or Certification Test Fees.”
Armed Security Guard Training Providers in Connecticut
Connecticut requires that all private security training be approved and that all private security trainers be certified by The Department of Emergency Services & Public Protection. Below are a few security guard training companies in Connecticut that provide pistol permit training. A complete security guard training school list maintained by Safety Department can be found online.
- Logistical Security for about $200 need plus you must bring your won 100 rounds of ammo; 50 rounds for training and 50 rounds to qualify with
- LBJ Security Training for about $150
- Bridgeport Shooting Range cost unknown plus you must bring your own 50 rounds of ammo for the weapon you will qualify with.