To work for a private security guard company in North Carolina, the company needs to register you as a security guard. If you want to work as a security guard without working for another company, then you need to get a Private Protective Services license, which is a lot more expensive and requires additional training. This article covers only how you get your Security Guard Registration Pocket Card, not how to become a licensed Private Protective Services Company.
A security guard or patrol company cannot employ you as an unarmed security guard in a regular position unless you have a registration card issued by the Private Protective Services Division of NC.
Type of Security Guard License Required & Issuing Authority
- Security Guard License Type: Security Guard Registration Pocket Card
- Security Guard License Length: 1 year
- Security Guard Licensing Authority and Website: North Carolina Department of Justice Private Protective Services Board (PPSB)
- Security Guard Licensing Phone Number: (919) 788-5320
- Security Guard Licensing Address:
P.O. Box 29500
4901 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27612
- Security Guard License Laws: Private Protective Services N.C.G.S. 74-C and the Board’s Administrative Rules and Regulations under Private Protective Services 12 N.C.A.C. 7D
Temporary or Probationary Security Guard
Law Enforcement / Police Officers as Security Guards
No law enforcement officer of the United States, this State, any other state, or any political subdivision of a state can hold a license as a private detective or security guard and patrol company in North Carolina.
An off‑duty law enforcement officer may be employed during their off‑duty hours by a licensed security guard and patrol company on an employer‑employee basis. An off‑duty law enforcement officer cannot wear his police officer’s uniform or use the police equipment while working for a security guard and patrol company.
A law enforcement officer may provide security guard and patrol services on an individual employer‑employee basis to a person, firm, association, or corporation that is not engaged in a security guard and patrol profession.
Security Guard Training Requirements & Fees
North Carolina requires that you take 16 hours of training to become an unarmed security guard within 30 days from the date of your permanent hire. Each security guard training company in NC sets its own class fees.
- Security Guard Courses before You Apply for a Security Guard Registration: 16 hours with cost set by training school; $ unknown.
North Carolina State Unarmed Security Guard Training Course Outline
The 16 hours of security guard courses must cover:
- 1 hour – The Security Officer in North Carolina
- 3 hours – Legal Issues for Security Officers
- 3 hours – Emergency Response
- 2 hours – Communications
- 3 hours – Patrol Procedures
- 3 hours – Note Taking and Report Writing
- 1 hour – Deportment
You must complete 4 hours of classroom instruction within 20 calendar days if you transition from a probationary or regular security guard to an duty station. The 4 hours of training include:
- 1 hour – The Security Officer in North Carolina
- 3 hours – Legal Issues for Security Officers
The security guard training you take must be from a Private Protective Services Board certified unarmed security guard trainer. This trainer follows the PPSB’s approved lesson plan using PPSB approved training materials.
Online Security Guard Training
You can take your 16 hours of unarmed security guard training online or interactively provided:
- The training is presented by a PPSB unarmed security officer trainer.
- You get a copy of the PPSB unarmed security officer training manual to use for the duration of your security guard training class.
- The trainer can see you and you see the trainer in real time during the security guard training.
- You can see and read the screen or monitor and can clearly hear and understand the audio presentation.
- All monitors used in each classroom are at least 32″ wide.
- The technology used is of sufficient quality so that the training audio and video is done smoothly and without interruption.
- You are taught to use the audio and video equipment in your classroom prior to the start of the 16 hour unarmed security officer training course.
- The total number of students receiving the interactive training at one time does not exceed 35 students.
- All training not included in the NC Private Protective Services unarmed security officer training manual is done either before or after the 16 hour unarmed security officer training.
- The Director of Private Protective Services is notified 5 days prior to training of the location of each classroom, name and location of the certified trainer, and the number of students who will be present.
- The sponsoring agency allows the Director or designee access via computer of the training during the time that it is taking place.
Security Guard Background Check & Fingerprinting Fees
- Fingerprint Fee = $38.00
Security Guard Application & License Fees
- Security Guard Registration Application Fee: $30
- Payment Types Accepted: Money order or cashier’s check. Personal checks are not acceptable.
- Payable To: Private Protective Services Board
Security Guard Other Requirements
To register as an unarmed guard in North Carolina, you must:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be US citizen or resident alien
- Be of good moral character and temperate habits. Any of the following within the last 5 years indicates you don’t have good moral character or temperate habits (conviction means and includes the entry of a pleas of guilty, plea of no contest, or a verdict of guilty):
- Conviction by any local, state, federal, or military court of any crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a firearm.
- Conviction of any crime involving the illegal use, possession, sale, manufacture, distribution, or transportation of a controlled substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic beverage.
- Conviction of a crime involving felonious assault or an act of violence.
- Conviction of a crime involving unlawful breaking and/or entering, burglary, larceny, any offense involving moral turpitude.
- A history of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic drug.
- Not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental disease or defect; or not have been involuntarily committed to an institution for treatment of mental disease or defect by a district court judge. If you have been treated and found to have been restored by a psychiatrist, the PSS Board will consider this evidence and determine whether you meet the requirements of this section.
- Not have had a revocation of a security guard registration.
Security Guard Application Process
- Get hired as a probationary employee security guard by a licensed private protective services company.
- The company you work for submits your name, address, social security number, and dates of employment on a monthly list of probationary employees to the NC Director of Private Protective Services.
- After 20 days, if the company decides to make you a regular employee, the company registers you as security guard with the Private Protective Services department by completing the form, submitting the appropriate fees and getting you background checked. To register you after the probationary period ends, your company submits:
- UNARMED REGISTRATION/RENEWAL APPLICATION NORTH CAROLINA PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD.
- A set of your fingerprints on standard F.B.I. applicant cards.
- A fingerprint release of information form.
- One recent (within last 5 years) color head and shoulders JPEG digital photograph on CD, floppy disk, or emailed to: PPSASL-Photos@ncdoj.gov (Polaroids and other similar types of photos are not acceptable).
- Statements of the result of a local criminal records search by the Clerk of Superior Court or appropriate governmental authority in each county where the applicant has resided within the immediate preceding 48 months (12 months for renewals). Final dispositions must be included. Criminal record checks will not be accepted if over 60 days old upon receipt in this office. Internet criminal records checks are acceptable for in-state residents if obtained from an authorized NC Administrative Office of the Courts Public Access User.
- Statements of any criminal records obtained from the appropriate authority in each area where you resided within the immediately preceding 4 years.
- Certificate(s) signed by Board certified trainer(s) verifying completion of unarmed training as per 12 NCAC 7D .0707.
- The required non-refundable registration fee (and $38.00 fingerprint fee for New).
- Your employer gives you a copy of your application to serve as a temporary registration during your first 30 days of employment pending receipt of the registration card
- The PPSB issues you an unarmed security guard registration pocket card with your name and photo on it.
Unarmed Security Guard Registration ID Card
You must carry your security guard card when performing your duties as a private protective services employee.
You must present your ID card at the request of any law enforcement officer or any other authorized representative of the PSS Board.
If your registration is revoked or suspended by the PSSB, you must return you security guard registration card to the PSSB within 10 days of the date of the revocation or suspension.
Duplicate or Replacement Security Guard Card
If you lose your security guard registration card, complete the UNARMED REGISTRATION/RENEWAL APPLICATION NORTH CAROLINA PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD for a new card and a $30.00 security guard card reissue fee.
Termination of Security Guard Employment
Your employer must notify in writing the Director of the Private Protective Services Division within 10 days if you are terminated as a regular employee registered as an unarmed security guard.
Transfer of Security Guard Employers
If an unarmed registered security guard is terminated by a licensee and changes employment to another security guard and patrol company, the security guard’s registration card is valid, provided the security guard pays the unarmed guard registration transfer fee of $15 to the PSS Board and a new unarmed security guard registration card is issued. An unarmed security guard whose transfer registration application and transfer fee have been sent to the PSS Board may work with a copy of the transfer application until the registration card is issued.