Type of Security Guard License Required & Issuing Authority
- License Type: Security Guard License
- License Length: 2 years
- Licensing Authority:
Department of Public Safety
Division of Statewide Services
Permits and Licensing Unit
- Licensing Website: http://www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/PermitsLicensing/securityguard.aspx
- Licensing Phone Number: 907.269.0393 and 907.269.5609 (fax) firstname.lastname@example.org
- Licensing Address:
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
- License Laws: Alaska Administrative Code Title 13 Sections 60.050 – 60.085
Temporary Security Guard License
You can work as security guard for a licensed security guard company on a temporary basis for not more than 30 days if all of the following are true:
- The security guard company has made reasonable and prudent inquiries to determine that you are qualified to be licensed.
- You have completed and submitted the security guard license application with application fee to the Alaska Department of Public Safety.
- You have reported your temporary status on your security guard application.
Security Guard Training Requirements & Fees
- Initial: 8 hours, cost unknown
- 180 Days: 40 hours, unknown
- Yearly: 8 hours, unknown
Before you submit your security guard application, you must take 8 hours of general pre-assignment training relating to your duties and responsibilities as a guard. You must complete satisfactorily 40 hours of training from your employer within 180 days after you begin working as a security guard. Your security training classes includes:
- Law of arrest
- Law of search and seizure
- Duties and responsibilities to the employer and client
- Fire prevention
- First aid
- Patrol techniques
Each year you must complete satisfactorily 8 hours refresher course on the same topics as listed above for the 40 hours of training.
Security Guard Background Check & Fingerprinting Fees
- Amount: $54.25
- Payment Types Accepted: Check or money order
- Payable To: Alaska Department of Public Safety
The Alaska Public Safety Department publishes online a list of where you can get your classifiable fingerprints taken to a concealed handgun permit. This is a good list to start with. However, if you won’t be carrying a concealed handgun, you can get your fingerprints rolled at any public business that provides this service.
The fingerprinting fee is set by the business that provides the service. For example, Hi-Tech Fingerprinting and ID Services in Anchorage charges $15 for two fingerprint cards.
Security Guard Application Fees
Alaska Security Guard Application
- Fee: $50
- Payment Types Accepted: Check or money order
- Payable To: State of Alaska
Security Guard Other Requirements
In order to be a security guard in Alaska, you must:
- Be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien with a work permit.
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Neither addicted to nor dependent on alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs.
- Be without a conviction, within 10 years before the date of your application, for any crime classified as a felony in Alaska or another jurisdiction at the time the crime was committed, unless a full pardon has been granted.
- Not be suffering from any psychopathic condition or mental illness impairing your powers of memory, reason, judgment, or perception.
Security Guard Insurance & Bond Requirements
To be a security guard, you must file with the Alaska Department of Public Safety:
- A certificate of insurance or bond evidencing comprehensive liability coverage for death, injury, false arrest, detention or imprisonment, malicious prosecution, libel, slander, defamation of character and violation of right to privacy in the minimum amount of $100,000 per person and $200,000 per occurrence.
- A certificate of property damage insurance or bond in the amount of $100,000 per occurrence. The certificate must provide that the insurance or bond may not be modified or cancelled unless 30 days’ notice of cancellation has been given to the Alaska Department of Public Safety.
Failure to maintain insurance or bond is grounds for revocation of a security guard license or a security guard agency license.
If your employer provides your required insurance or bond, you must file a certificate of proof with your application for a security guard license. At some point, if you are no longer covered by your employer-provided insurance or bond, you must:
- Immediately notify the Alaska Department of Public Safety in writing. If your non-eligibility for employer-provided insurance or bond or employee termination is because you are in violation of law that would be cause for license revocation, you must include this information in your notification.
- Return your security guard license identification card to the Alaska Department of Public Safety within 30 days after termination of your employer-provide insurance coverage unless you are covered by personal insurance or bond as described above. You can get your security guard license identification card back once you supply proof of insurance or bond.
Security Guard Application Process
To be a security guard in Alaska:
- Complete your initial 8 hours of training.
- Get the Alaska New Security Guard Application form online.
- Complete the form according to the instructions on the form.
- Attach 1 copy of a color picture of you taken within 30 days of your application submission. The photo should be a frontal view from your waist up.
- Attach 2 copies of your fingerprints.
- Attach proof of your US citizenship or resident alien status, such as a photocopy of your current state-issued driver’s license or non-driver ID.
- Attach certification of your completion of the Alaska required initial security guard training.
- Attach proof of your required insurance.
- Attach you checks for your background check and for processing your application.
- If you want to be an armed security guard, attach a copy of your firearm qualifications/certification.
- Get your signature notarized on your application.
- Mail everything to the Alaska Department of Public Safety address listed above.